With 2 seats BJP to form anti-Congress govt in Meghalaya

bjpNational Peoples’ Party leader Conrad Sangma is going to be sworn in as Meghalaya Chief Minister on 6 March.

The BJP brought together regional parties NPP, UDP, HSPDP and the PDF and met the Governor to stake claim to form the next government, claiming the support of 34 MLAs in the 60-member House.

With two seats BJP is going to form an anti-Congress government in the state. NPP has 19 MLAs, the UDP (United Democratic Party) has six, the HSPDP (Hill State People’s Democratic Party) two and the PDF (People’s Democratic Front) four.

Congress with 21 seats won, becomes the single largest party but fails to garner the support of independents and other parties.