Vidya Balan and Jeevitha joins Censor Board

censor-teamBollywood heroine Vidya Balan, Telugu actresses Gauthami and Jeevitha, are appointed as members of the censor board. Prasoon Joshi has been appointed as the chief of the CBFC board. Recently, the former chief of the censor board, Pehlaj Nihalani has been removed from the post.

On Friday, the new board members have been announced by Joshi. The new members include Gauthami, Narendra Kohli, Naresh Chandra Lal, Neal Herbert, Vivek Agnihotri, Vaman Kendra, Vidya Balan, TS Nagabharana, Ramesh Patange, Vani Tripathi, Jeevitha Rajasekhar and Mihir Bhatta.

Pehlaj Nihalani was the most controversial CBFC chief and after his removal, Bollywood is celebrating. Nihalani was appointed as CBFC chief for two and a half years. At that time, he gave the Film censor certificates in the style. James Bond fans in India mocked the censor board’s decision to “cut short” kissing scenes from Spectre. He also landed in news for making 89 cuts in Udta Punjab film.