TRS to contest Parakala assembly by-poll

TRS today decided to contest the Parakala assembly constituency in Telangana region where the by-polls will be held soon.
A committee headed by senior leader Naini Narasimha Reddy was appointed to select the candidate for the by-poll, TRS MLA T Harish Rao told reporters here after a meeting of the party’s politburo.
Parakala is the sole assembly constituency in the Telangana region among the 18 seats where the by-polls will be held, the notification for which, however, has not been issued as yet.
The by-polls for 16 seats have become necessary due to the disqualification of sitting Congress MLAs who switched loyalty to Kadapa MP Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy and voted against the Congress government during a floor test in December, while the sitting member quit in support of Jagan in another seat. Besides, actor-turned-politician Chiranjeevi quit as MLA following his election to Rajya Sabha.
Incidentally, TRS candidate was defeated in the recently held by-poll in Mahabubnagar at the hands of BJP.
Meanwhile, the TRS formation day celebration will be held this month-end at Vikarabad in Ranga Reddy district neighbouring Hyderabad, Harish Rao added.