TRS defeats Congress in Palair by-elections

tummala-nageswara-rao_650x400_81461331126Telangana Rashtra Samiti candidate and Roads and Building Minister T. Nageswara Rao defeated his nearest Congress rival R.Sucharitha Reddy by a huge margin of 45,000 votes in Palair assembly seat .

Of the 1,71,061 votes cast, Nageswara Rao polled 94,978 while Sucharitha Reddy got 49,302 votes. P. Sudershan Rao of the Communist Party of India-Marxist finished third with 15,544 votes.

The seat went vacant with the death of of sitting legislator Ramreddy Venkat Reddy of the Congress party, However sympathy factor could not fetch votes for Congress.

In 2014, TRS had finished a poor fourth with just 4,041 votes, but KCR’s rule for past two years , gave a grand victory for the party, wresting seat of Congress.