Tripura by-elections Results : CPM wins both seats

cpm-tripuraThe CPI(M) has managed to win both Barjala and Khowai assembly seats in Tripura state in the by polls held on 19 November, 2016. Polling for these two scheduled caste reserved seats took place amid tight security. The Barjala seat fell vacant after the resignation of Congress MLA Jitendra Sarkar following an internal feud. The Khowai seat had fallen vacant due to the death of senior CPI(M) legislator Samir Deb Sarkar.

CPI(M) candidate Jhumu Sarkar trounced his nearest BJP rival Shistamohan Das by a margin of 3,374 votes in Barjala (SC) constituency. CPI(M) secured 15,769 votes, while BJP garnered 12,395 votes.

Bye-election from Tripura continue to surprise like the previous by-election. Is BJP replacing Congress as the main opposition to CPM.

Barjala Vidhan Sabha
CPM: 45%(Vote Swing: – 3%)
INC: 3%(Vote Swing: – 46%)
BJP: 35%(Vote Swing: + 34%)

Khowai Vidhan Sabha
CPM: 68%(Vote Swing: +6.7%)
INC: 2%(Vote Swing: -35.3%)
BJP: 7%(Vote Swing: +6.3%)