TJAC in a fix as TRS, BJP eye Parkal seat

As both the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) and the BJP have decided to field their respective candidates in the Parkal byelections, the role of Telangana Joint Action Committee (TJAC) has became crucial.

Both TRS and BJP are partners in TJAC.

In the recent Mahbubnagar byelections, TRS and BJP fielded their candidates and local TJAC leaders supported the BJP candidate, while the TJAC was equidistant from both the parties and called upon voters to support Telangana sentiment.

BJP candidate won the election with a simple majority. With the victory in Mahbubnagar Assembly segment, the BJP is now pinning hopes to win even in Parkal with Telangana sentiment.

However, TRS and the BJP are yet to finalise their candidates. Sources said Mahbubnagar election was different from Parkal’s. In Mahbubnagar, the religion card played by the BJP worked. But the Telangana sentiment is very strong in Parkal and the local TJAC units are associated with TRS closely.

As many as six leaders, including M Bhikshapati and Peddi Sudarshan Reddy, are trying for TRS ticket. The BJP is said to be waiting to woo candidates who fail to get TRS ticket. Thus, the BJP is expecting to split the TRS vote.

There were rumours that the TJAC will field its own candidate, instead of supporting either TRS or BJP. However, TJAC chairman Prof M Kodandaram denied any such move.

While the TRS is confident of winning the seat with a huge majority, BJP holds that voting for BJP would help take the Telangana cause to the national level.

“BJP is a national party and its support is needed if a Bill is introduced in Parliament. BJP’s victory in Parkal would help its national leaders to raise the matter in Parliament,” a BJP leader said.

YSRC candidate Konda Surekha too is contesting in the election on Telangana slogan. She, however, has clarity that Telangana state could not be achieved with Parkal seat.

“The Centre has to introduce a Bill in Parliament. Even if I win from Parkal, Telangana could not be delivered,” Surekha said. She resigned as MLA in response to the call given by TJAC chairman Kodandaram, she said.