Roadblock for Delimitation of constituencies in AP and TS

ap-telanganaWith the statement of Minister of State for Home Affairs, Hansraj Ahir in parliament, the Delimitation of assembly constituencies both in Telangana and Andhra Pradesh has hit a roadblock despite the provisions made in the AP reorganization act.

Section 26(1) of the AP Reorganisation Act, 2014 provides necessary room for the enhancement. But Hansraj Ahir said Delimitation of assembly constituencies is not possible until the amendment of article 170.

Both the governments in Telugu states pinned hopes on increasing constituencies as Telangana will have 153 constituencies whereas AP will have 225, if delimitations take place. The ruling TRS and TDP parties in Telangana and AP respectively have inducted other party members with a hope on delimitation.