Record victory for Mekapati

High-profile industrialist and seniorCongress leader T Subbaramireddy ate humble pie when he lost the Lok Sabha election from Nellore constituency to YSR Congress Party’s Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy. The victory margin of 2,91,745 votes of Mekapati is said to be the highest in the history of Nellore parliamentary constituency. The contest, although looked as fiercely fought after TSR entered the fray as Congress nominee, ended as a one-sided battle. Mekapati, who won the previous election as a Congress candidate, quit the Lok Sabha in protest against naming of YSR as an accused by the CBI in its chargesheet.

Accepting the defeat, he said: “I accept the verdict humbly.” While Mekapati secured 5,35,436 votes, TSR got 2,43,691 and TDP candidate V Venugopala Reddy remained in the third spot with 1,54,103 votes. Mekapati’s victory margin was more than the votes his nearest rival got in the byelection.