Punjab elections Results : Congress steals the show

congress-punjabIn the 117 member Punjab assembly , Congress sweeps and makes a historic comeback after 10 years . While the ruling Akali dal face a humiliating defeat.

Congress has won 77 seats in 117 member Punjab assembly, While the AAP is limited to 20 seats.

BJP 3 seats ( 5.4 % vote share)
Congress 77 seats (38.5% vote share)
SAD 15 seats (25.2% vote share)
AAP 20 seats (23.7% Vote share )
BSP 0 seats (1.5% vote share)
LIP 2 seats (1.2 % vote share)
Independents 0 seats (2.1 % vote share)

Shiromani Akali Dal president Sukhbir Singh Badal on Saturday won his Jalalabad assembly seat after defeating two sitting MPs.

Congress’ Navjot Singh Sidhu won from Amritsar East seat while AAP’s Gurpreet Singh Ghuggi won from Batala constituency.

Amarinder Singh set to return as Chief Minister of the border state. The people of Punjab have given a big mandate to Congress which promised that their first priority will be to eradicate drugs from Punjab.