Nandi Awards to be renamed as Kakatiya Awards ?

nandi-T-ETelangana government is planning to rename the prestigious ‘Nandi ‘ Awards -the highest award ceremony for excellence in Telugu cinema, Telugu Theater, Telugu Television, and Lifetime achievements in Indian cinema, presented annually by the Governments of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana.

The Cabinet sub-committee headed by cinematography minister Talasani Srinivas Yadav has discussed on renaming of ‘Nandi awards’ as the ‘Kakatiya/ Yadadri Awards’ from this year onwards.

Talasani has asked I&PR commissioner Naveen Mittal and advisor Ramanachary to form a committee regarding awards, which will submit report in April.

Tollwood biggies, Telangana and AP Film Chambers, Ram Mohan Rao and Suresh Babu,Tammareddy Bharadwaj, Adiseshagiri Rao, Murali Mohan, Shyam Prasad Reddy ,Dasari Narayana Rao and Shankar, have taken part in meeting.