Dilsuknagar Bomb Blast : Death sentence to Yasin Bhatkal and four others

yasin-bhatkalA special National Investigation Agency (NIA) court in Hyderabad awarded death sentence to Indian Mujahideen co-founder Yasin Bhatkal and four others in the Dilsukhnagar twin blasts case.

NIA court had held the five of banned Indian Mujahideen including a Pakistani national guilty in the 2013 twin bomb blasts case. All five were convicted for offences including waging war against nation, criminal conspiracy and murder.

Apart from Yasin Bhatkal, the other convicts include his brother Riyaz Bhatkal, also considered the brain behind the blasts. Other found guilty include, Riyaz, a resident of Karnataka’s Bhatkal town (hiding in Pak) , Zia ur Rehman, a resident of Mustafabad of Pakistan’s Punjab province, Asadullah Akhtar of Uttar Pradesh, Tahseen Akhtar of Bihar, and Aizaz Saeed Shaik of Maharashtra.

The twin blasts had occurred within a distance of 100 metres at crowded places in shopping area Dilsukhnagar on the evening of February 21, 2013.