84 nominations rejected

Andhra Pradesh Chief Electoral Officer Bhanwarlal today said as many as 84 nominations out of 412 filed for by-elections in 18 Assembly and one Parliament seats to be held on June 12 have been rejected during scrutiny.

Talking to mediapersons here, he said that the rejected 84 nominations were not filed in a proper manner. He said that six nominations have been rejected out of 19 filed for Nellore Lok Sabha constituency.

Regarding the petition filed by YSR Congress party leaders asking Election Commission’s intervention to prevent Jagan Mohan Reddy’s arrest by the CBI till by-elections are over, Bhanwarlal said that their plea has been sent to Central Election Commission.

He also clarified that the disqualification of MLAs by Assembly Speaker does not affect their eligibility criteria to contest in the by-elections. The CEO warned media of serious action if it misleads the voters in the by-elections. He said that Returning Officers have been given full powers to initiate action against media in this regard.